Shopping cart is empty.
This catalog has no sub-catalogs.

Year Of Billy Miller, The: 2014 Newbery Honour Book

  • $15.00 
  • (quantity currently in stock: 1)
  •  Year Of Billy Miller, The: 2014 Newbery Honour Book
    Title: Year Of Billy Miller, The: 2014 Newbery Honour Book
    Author: HENKES KEVIN
    Format: PAPERBACK
    Publication date: 01/07/2015
    Imprint: GREENWILLOW
    Price: $15.00
    Publishing status: Active

    NEWBERY HONOR BOOK. This funny, unforgettable, and accessible new novel by the nationally best-selling and award-winning author Kevin Henkes introduces second grader Billy Miller and will appeal to fans of Ramona, Clementine, and Judy Moody. Features black-and-white drawings by the author throughout. A 2014 Newbery Honor Book A New York Times Bestseller Award-winning, nationally bestselling author Kevin Henkes introduces second-grader Billy Miller in this fast-paced and funny story about friendship, sibling rivalry, and elementary school. The Year of Billy Miller includes black-and-white art by Kevin Henkes and is perfect for fans of the Ramona books; Frindle, by Andrew Clements; and the Clementine series. The New York Times declared: "Henkes's delightful story is restrained and vivid . . . forgoing the overdramatic or zany, it shows the substance, warmth and adaptability of beautifully common family love." When Billy Miller has a mishap at the statue of the Jolly Green Giant at the end of summer vacation, he ends up with a big lump on his head. What a way to start second grade, with a lump on your head! As the year goes by, though, Billy figures out how to navigate elementary school, how to appreciate his little sister, and how to be a more grown up and responsible member of the family and a help to his busy working mom and stay-at-home dad. Newbery Honor author and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes delivers a short, satisfying, laugh-out-loud-funny school and family story that features a diorama homework assignment, a school poetry slam, cancelled sleepovers, and epic sibling temper tantrums. This is a perfect short novel for the early elementary grades.

    Gleebooks review:
    Billy Miller is starting second grade worried; two weeks before he’d fallen on his head badly, and gone to hospital. What seems to be a disaster is in fact just one of the many incidents—some big, some small—that happen to Billy in his year. Kevin Henkes has a knack of getting into the heads of all his child characters, be they mice or human, and his skill is his ability to take the reader with him. All the fears and triumphs of a small child’s life are taken into consideration, nothing is deemed unimportant. The parents and the teachers in Kevin Henkes’ books are very human, but always wonderful. And yet this is not an idealised view of childhood, just a very considered and hopeful one. The author’s own delightful black and white vignettes are throughout the book. Louise

    ISBN: 9780062268143
     *Titles in stock are generally despatched within 24 hours. Titles not in stock are obtained from their supplier, generally within 7-14 days; we'll notify you of any delays or price changes. We only charge your credit card for titles once they are in stock and ready for despatch.