Shopping cart is empty.
This catalog has no sub-catalogs.

Berlin


  • $27.00  
  •  (retail price $27.00)
  • (quantity currently in stock: 0)
  • Berlin 
    Title: Berlin
    Author: FREI PIERRE
    Format: PAPERBACK
    Publication date: 27/07/2007
    Imprint: GROVE PRESS
    Price: $27.00
    Publishing status: Active

    Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been highly acclaimed. Ben, a German boy retrieving cigarette butts to repackage and sell on the black market, discovers the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. In the scramble to identify the body, the victim is mistaken for an American and a local investigation becomes a matter for the U.S. Military Police. Captain John Ashburner and Inspector Klaus Dietrich realize quickly that to solve this apparently motiveless murder they will have to work together. When the bodies of other young women are discovered it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence. Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with an electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, in which the voices and stories of the victims themselves provide an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war.

    ISBN: 9780802143297
     *Titles in stock are generally despatched within 24 hours. Titles not in stock are obtained from their supplier, generally within 7-14 days; we'll notify you of any delays or price changes. We only charge your credit card for titles once they are in stock and ready for despatch.