Shopping cart is empty.
This catalog has no sub-catalogs.

Crime in the Family, A

  • $33.00 
  • (quantity currently in stock: 7)
  •  Crime in the Family, A
    Title: Crime in the Family, A
    Author: BATTHYANY SACHA
    Format: PAPERBACK
    Publication date: 14/03/2017
    Imprint: QUERCUS
    Price: $33.00
    Publishing status: Active

    In the spring of 1945, at Rechnitz on the Austrian-Hungarian border, not far from the front lines of the advancing Red Army, Countess Margit Batthy ny gave a party in her mansion. The war was almost over, and the German aristocrats and SS officers dancing and drinking knew it was lost. Late that night, they walked down to the village, where 180 enslaved Jewish labourers waited, made them strip naked, and shot them all, before returning to the bright lights of the party. It remained a secret for decades, until Sacha Batthy ny, who remembered his great-aunt Margit only vaguely from his childhood as a stern, distant woman, began to ask questions about it.

    A CRIME IN THE FAMILY is Sacha Batthy ny's memoir of confronting these questions, and of the answers he found. It is one of the last untold stories of Europe's nightmare century, spanning not just the massacre at Rechnitz, the inhumanity of Auschwitz, the chaos of wartime Budapest and the brutalities of Soviet occupation and Stalin's gulags, but also the silent crimes of complicity and cover-up, and the damaged generations they leave behind.

    Told partly through the surviving journals of others from the author's family and the vanished world of Rechnitz, A CRIME IN THE FAMILY is a moving and revelatory memoir in the vein of THE HARE WITH THE AMBER EYES and THE HOUSE BY THE LAKE. It uncovers barbarity and tragedy but also a measure of peace and reconciliation. Ultimately, Batthy ny discovers that although his inheritance might be that of monsters, he does not bear it alone.

    ISBN: 9781786480552
     *Titles in stock are generally despatched within 24 hours. Titles not in stock are obtained from their supplier, generally within 7-14 days; we'll notify you of any delays or price changes. We only charge your credit card for titles once they are in stock and ready for despatch.