Shopping cart is empty.
This catalog has no sub-catalogs.

Beyond the Wild River

  • $32.99 
  • (quantity currently in stock: 9)
  •  Beyond the Wild River
    Title: Beyond the Wild River
    Author: MAINE SARAH
    Format: PAPERBACK
    Publication date: 20/04/2017
    Imprint: HODDER HEADLINE
    Price: $32.99
    Publishing status: Active

    From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, Stef Penney's Under a Pole Star, and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine skilfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a mystery...compelling' Kirkus Reviews Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting. Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide?
    In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

    ISBN: 9781473639683
     *Titles in stock are generally despatched within 24 hours. Titles not in stock are obtained from their supplier, generally within 7-14 days; we'll notify you of any delays or price changes. We only charge your credit card for titles once they are in stock and ready for despatch.